Help! Rough idle and stall

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gschiano27

Reaction score
Need some Help!
I have a 2013 Raptor 61k miles, I installed a K&N 77 Series CAI with a 5 Star 89 Daily Street Tune.
Since the install the truck has had a rough idle, Rpms get down to the point of near stall and has to catch back up. This happens both in Park, slowing to come to a stop or at a light, and in reverse.

It has stalled twice coming up a hill and around a turn near my house (thank god)
Low Oil Message pops up but the oil is fine. Truck starts right back up.

All spark plugs and wires were changed as well as #27 fuse as I’ve read that it could be the issue.

Could there be too much air flow? Does the tune need adjusted or is something going bad in the engine?

Ps I’m not a mechanic

Sozzy12

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I'd check the maf sensor that was removed during the install first. The connection may not be fully made. The sensor itself may need to be cleaned. Next, I'd put the stock air cleaner back and get a refund on the k&n crap.

1BAD454SS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
sounds like unmetered air after your MAF or MAF sensor installed backwards . Check clamps at throttlebody .

Danner

Reaction score
After market intakes mess up the maf as well as let lots of dirt into the engine. I've seen so many with dirt inside the manifold.

OP
OP
Gschiano27

Gschiano27

Reaction score
Ever sort this out?
No I haven’t, just removed and cleaned the CAI Filter as well as the MAF last week. Didn’t have an issue until about an hour ago when I was at a stop light and RPMs dropped and then shot up thrusting the truck forward. I’m due for service so I’m going to remove everything and have ford see if they can diagnose

MachineGunT

Reaction score