Help!!! Differential Questions: Gears, Lockers, and Diff covers Front and Rear!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ISFast

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Ok this is going to get long and I'm truly sorry, but need some help. I'm pretty new to the whole Differential part of turning wrenches. I know just enough to get myself in trouble. So when because its only a matter of time before I ask something stupid because i'm ignorant.

So.... With that said. Tuesday I'm going to my differential/axle guy. My old roommate who I trust as gone to him for years and years. I'm sure I'll find out a bunch more about what my needs/wants are, but I can't freaking stand it just thinking about it and not knowing:insane:. Plus want to make sure I'm on the same page if I can be.

Few things needing answered:
1. Gears what ratio?
2. Differential covers?
3. Lockers?

Back ground of the truck:

Right now I'm running 35s but 37's are coming. There is glass for the front fenders showing up as well. So other that TRR to run out my old 35s it will be 37s... maybe bigger down the road... from here on out.

1:Gears
I'm thinking that 4.88s would be great but have thought about 5.13s.

Questions about the gears
1. Will 5.13s fit both front and rear?

2. Any downside to 5.13s because it does something that isn't as good as 4.88s?

3. Any company of gears you recommend and why?

4. Would like quite gears but my tires are so loud not that big of an issues. My main thing is the really good/tough gears. Which company?

2: Differential covers
I'm wanting to do a Mag Hytec cover for the rear because it will be easier to mess with changing/checking fluids and how they look.

Questions about diff covers
1. Can I get a Mag Hytec cover for the front?

2. Does the stock front cover have a drain plug already?

3. Any other covers you would consider?

3: Lockers