Engineer and life long toyota owner going Raptor....finally

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

fur_pig

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm an engineer (actually Ford was my first engineering job out of school) and have always been impressed with the capability of the Raptor. I also have only ever owned Toyota's in part because I was very into rock crawlers, but later more-so for the reliability. I've found after buying several new Toyotas that I'm tired of only eating vanilla ice cream. I got the "coolest" Toyota I could, a TRD Pro 4runner in the tan quicksand color etc. but still feel incredibly underwhelmed by it. I've been a member on this forum for years, more as a pipe dream but soon as a contributing member. I sold my 76 FJ40 (LS1, 1 tons, 40's, etc) and am trading in my 4runner on a 2019 SCREW!!!
Now the painful multi-month wait.....

Here's my FJ and 4runner for fun:
20180929-120308.jpg
00707-gpe-LNt-U9clt-1200x900.jpg

Sozzy12

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Cool fj. If only it didn't have a Garbage Motor... I'm sure you will miss it but the Rappy will make up for that. Congrats. As the late, great Tom Petty said "the waiting is the hardest part."

zombiekiller

OG BooBooRunner
Reaction score
nice 40!

I too came out of a long line of toys (40, 60, 62, fzj80, taco), and also had lots of jeeps (FSJ, XJ, YJ, TJ) then graduated to a raptor.

Going fast is so much more fun than going slow. :)

carsonmd

Reaction score
Great description of a toyota ... "vanilla." I have a 2017 tundra and looking for a raptor as well.

CP312

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just traded my Tundra TRD Pro in Cement for literally every reason you stated. Got a ‘18 in Leadfoot... all I can say is I should’ve done it sooner. Congrats and I think you’ll be happy with your decision.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TxRap

Full Access Member