DPDT Relay for Rigid 20 Lightbar to Flash or stay Solid

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1]' started by farmerdave, Mar 5, 2013.

Sponsored By: KC HiLiTES
  1. farmerdave

    farmerdave Member

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Location:
    Sullivan County, NY
    I am about to install a Rigid E Series 20 on the front lower and a pair of Dually flush mounts on the rear bumper. I plan on utilizing Rigid's flash modules for the LED's (3 AMP for the rear, part # 40312 and 6 AMP for the front 20, Part # 40612).
    I want to be able to have the Lights stay solid for standard applications, or flash when needed...normally, with a flasher module when you flip the switch (upfitter) it will only flash. Im looking to have the option of utilizing all 4 Upfitters in the fiollowing manner:

    #1 Front LED Light Bar ON
    #2 Front LED Light Bar Flashing
    #3 Rear Dually's ON
    #4 Rear Dually's Flashing

    My initial conversation with the fella from Alternative Off Road had both of us in agreement that all I would have to do is "T" the hot wire from the LED's sending one wire direct to Upfitter #1 and the second wire from the "T" to the flash module, then to Upfitter #2.

    This should work, but it doesnt resolve an issue if someone were to flip both Upfitters #1 and #2 on of causing an issue. (would it ?)

    A buddy of mine suggested using a DPDT relay....while I understand the concept...I figured Id come on here (first post) to ask the resident "experts" to help a brother out. Thank you !
     
    AlternativeOffroad likes this.
  2. pat'sRAPTOR

    pat'sRAPTOR FRF Addict

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I looked into the flasher modules from rigid as well but I was under the impression that you could change the modes on it to flash different ways or stay solid. Guess I thought wrong. Did you try contacting rigid to see if they had a solution? I'm sure you aren't the only one that's wanted this I'd like to know for sure cause this would be a sweet feature!
     
  3. farmerdave

    farmerdave Member

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Location:
    Sullivan County, NY
    you were correct....u can change to any of the 7 patterns, or stay solid....once u tie off the hot lead, thats the mode it will stay on....if you want to change the pattern, you have to pull the hot wire and "tap it to to the positive" until u find the pattern you want.

    Basically u have to make the choice initially and stick with it...u cant switch between the two....hence my cry for help.

    Thanks.
     
    AlternativeOffroad likes this.
  4. farmerdave

    farmerdave Member

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Location:
    Sullivan County, NY
    Solved !

    Sooooo...after a more extensive conversation with the guys at Rigid, we figured out that the wire from the flasher unit that is used to change the patterns...can be run directly to an upfitter switch...say #2 (upfitter #1 would have the hot wire to it to power the flasher unit).
    #2 would act like a momentary switch, thereby, allowing you to cycle thru the multiple patterns including solid, just by toggling #2 on and off.

    There is no concern of having both #1 and #2 "hot" at the same time as the flasher is set up to accept a "hot flash" to change the pattern but then closes the circuit.

    Boom...thanks to Rigid and Alternative Offroad for helping me work this out.
     
  5. jadanf

    jadanf Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Location:
    Utah / Austin Texas
    Glad you worked it out -- post some quick videos of the rigid in action once you get it set up. I think this would be a sweet mod as an emergency signal or hazard light.
     
  6. OBXRAPTOR17

    OBXRAPTOR17 Member

    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    The rigid flasher module does not have constant on as an option. My understanding is you wanted two switches: one to turn on and stay on and one to make them flash. If you want this you will require a 5 pin relay or T the power lead and put in line diodes to prevent the switches from competing.


    U can add a third switch to the equation that acts as a momentary switch to change the flasher mode

    The concept is here:
    https://youtu.be/Lko2XrbSQaM
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2017
  7. tomahawk

    tomahawk Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    this is why I love my light bars...they come with a wireless remote that I can not only change the color from white to amber but have strobe function at the push of a button no messing with the wires or anything and you can buy a wireless module if you already have a light bar and want it to strobe
     

Share This Page