DIY Tire Rotation (TPMS problems?)

Discussion in 'Ford F-150 Raptor General Discussions [GEN 2]' started by ChevyChad, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. ChevyChad

    ChevyChad Full Access Member

    Posts:
    531
    Likes Received:
    220
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    About ready to rotate my tires since I have about 4k on the truck now. Can I just rotate them and call it a day? Or will that throw off the TPMS system? If the sensors need to be re-learned for the new location, is there any way I can do that myself?
     
  2. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    795
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA
    Youll need to do a re learn. Super easy.

    Put in accessory mode. Dont start the truck.

    Turn the hazard flashers on then off three times. You must accomplish this within 10 seconds. If the reset mode has been entered successfully, the horn
    will sound once, the system indicator will flash and a message is shown in the information display. It should prompt you to the Left Front

    Remove the valve cap from the valve stem on the left front tire. Decrease the air pressure until the horn sounds. Note: The single horn chirp confirms
    that the sensor identification code has been learned by the module for this position. If a double horn is heard, the reset procedure was unsuccessful, and
    you must repeat it.

    Train the tire pressure monitoring system sensors in the tires using the following system reset sequence starting with the left front tire in the following clockwise order: Left front (driver's side front tire), Right front (passenger's side front tire), Right rear (passenger's side rear tire), Left rear (driver's side rear tire).

    Remove the valve cap from the valve stem on the right front tire. Decrease the air pressure until the horn sounds.

    Remove the valve cap from the valve stem on the right rear tire. Decrease the air pressure until the horn sounds.

    Remove the valve cap from the valve stem on the left rear tire. Decrease the air pressure until the horn sounds. Training is complete after the horn sounds for the last tire trained


    Theres some type of tool too but this is easy enough that I never found the need to buy it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
    HotLap, gijosh28, Liv4Spd and 4 others like this.
  3. ChevyChad

    ChevyChad Full Access Member

    Posts:
    531
    Likes Received:
    220
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Thanks for that, Robtor310. My tires are filled with nitrogen though (dealer did it to all their raptors they had on the lot), so I'd hate to drain too much air out of them because its not something I can refill myself. Any idea how much air needs to be drained per tire for this method to work? If its more than 1psi or so, any idea where to get the tool?
     
  4. brettmess24

    brettmess24 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    I didn’t have to do a thing when I rotated mine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Micha and dannym2009 like this.
  5. Jake17

    Jake17 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    392
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    :lol:
    :win:
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
    smurfslayer. likes this.
  6. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    795
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA
    If I had to guess I think its around 5psi.
    The tool is something like this.
    https://www.amazon.com/Motorcraft-TPMS19-Transmitter/dp/B001FKSNUI
    I cannot vouch for it though. May have to do some more research.

    Technically you dont have to do anything. You wont get a warning or error. Your tires/TPMS wont be synced with the locations in the gauge cluster display. Thats all.
     
    ChevyChad likes this.
  7. jabroni619

    jabroni619 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    448
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    If you don't mine your instrument cluster not correlating tire pressures with the correct tires, you don't have to do anything.
     
    Robtor310 likes this.
  8. trophycummins

    trophycummins Full Access Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    118
    Likes Received:
    72
    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    The truck will auto program most of the time. Just by driving it down the road. The relearn procedure is rarely needed.

    I recommend buying the TPMS 35 tool. Its very easy to use.
     
    ChevyChad likes this.
  9. brettmess24

    brettmess24 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014


    Mine absolutely are in the right location as I run a lower PSI in the rear than the front. I must have the advanced tpms

    I have to use the tool on our chev suburban for location but I’m positive my Raptor self learns really quick on the location of each tpm. I’m sure your process makes the location instant as I have done the same in the past. Could be that I air up the fronts and deflate the rear by 2psi. Ymmv




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    ChevyChad likes this.
  10. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    795
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA

    Good to know!
     

Share This Page