Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


DIY stereo upgrade for under $500.00

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2]' started by Guy, Mar 5, 2017.

  1. dhmcfadin

    dhmcfadin Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    492
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Have you utilized an oscilloscope and rta to determine total harmonic distortion, signal to noise, and intermodulation distortion out of the factory headunit in non-amplified trucks?
     
  2. goblues38

    goblues38 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    STL
    yes....but it was 25 years ago....you can see the clipping happen......and ears don't lie

    also...when you look at the output on a RTA, it just gets very muddy on the low end. I stand by my thoughts.
     
  3. dhmcfadin

    dhmcfadin Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    492
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    A lot has changed in 25 years. Theres a huge difference between acoustical distortion and electrical distortion. Your ears are being deceived, at least on this particular headunit. The high level output on the factory headunit has been verified. To everyone else reading this thread, don’t complicate things. High level signal from the non-amplified factory headunit is adequate for even the most high fidelity systems.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2020
  4. goblues38

    goblues38 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    STL
    We just agree to disagree..... and you are wrong

    It is an amplified factory head unit.....you are taking the signal after the amp.

    If you have ever listened to real high end audio.....and your ears know what to listen for, you can hear how bad it is. Given the choice.....every audio professional who is not a hack would avoid high level inputs when another option is available.

    Don't be a hack.
     
  5. dhmcfadin

    dhmcfadin Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    492
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Woah man.

    On our headunits, where does the audio signal come from when switched to low level? Guess what, it still comes through the factory amplifier at a much lower voltage. The same circuits are used. Aftermarket headunit, different story. My data and testing is SPECIFIC to our trucks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2020
  6. dhmcfadin

    dhmcfadin Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    492
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    If you have the ability to run low-level, go that route. I run optical in my truck. But keep in mind there are a number of complications that can occur with switching your output setting in forscan. The most notable being noise.
     
  7. goblues38

    goblues38 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    STL
    that's my point. i am not trying to argue...you seem like a reasonable person.

    You should take the signal before the amp, not after it. The factory amp, weather it be sony or b&o (actually both are sony) is just gross. It adds a layer junk that you can eliminate by replacing the factory amp all together.

    So the best way to accomplish this is to replace the amp with your aftermarket amp......but to do that, you have to buy the ZEN-A2B (if B&O) and ?? (if sony).

    Don't just piggy back after the factory amp.
     
  8. dhmcfadin

    dhmcfadin Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    492
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    I said multiple times “factory non-amplified trucks”. It’s pretty self explanatory but this means trucks that DO NOT have Sony or B&O from the factory.

    For Sony- Pac Amp Pro
    For B&O- Zen a2b.
     
  9. goblues38

    goblues38 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    STL

    All good...we are not talking the same scenario then....

    Yes.....in a non amplified stereo....you would have no choice to go high level. My bad, as I was only speaking in terms of amped factory units where you can get a signal direct off the can-bus.
     
  10. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    887
    Likes Received:
    635
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    For Sony, and I think any number of different sound processor options, some built into the Amp itself.

    Also, based on the above discussion, how does passive crossovers come into play. Is it technically cleaner to avoid crossovers, to have the tweeters and midrange coming from different channels? Or is it irrelevant since the crossover is just clipping off frequencies, not altering the frequencies you hear. I suppose the frequencies need to get chopped off at the crossover in the amp/signal processor themselves anyway.
     

Share This Page