Confused with lights!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tonyp

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I’m new to this so gonna ask some questions that I haven’t seen answered elsewhere looking through the threads.

I’d like to add some lights to my truck when it comes in. Grille lights, upgraded fog lights (I’ve heard they’re not too hot stock), maybe even a bumper at some point from ADD, something like that, and there are a million options.

To add to my noob bewilderment, I see some are street legal, some aren’t, some go through the fog light switch, some go through Aux switches, the there are white and amber lights and then spot, fogs, driving lights… wow!

I admittedly won’t go off road too much because there’s not many places near me but I’ll be bringing it on beaches and using it for work around the yard, etc, but I like the look of some cool lights too.

If someone could shed some light, ha!, on what kind of light does what, and what I should be looking for I’d appreciate it! All I can see from my reading is squadrons seem popular lol.

Should I be starting with upgrading the fogs or installing grille lights? Any help again is appreciated. Thanks!

Raptor18Actual

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There are many suppliers on here that can help answer your questions.
  • Regarding the types of lights (wide, cornering, driving, spot), BD has a nice diagram showing what does what:1643636144097.png
  • On 2021+, the outermost stock fog lights are connected to the fog light switch, with the innermost connected to AUX1
  • White vs amber I view as visibility for you vs visibility for others. Amber is better for dust/snow/fog conditions, easier for others to see you, also doesn't blind you with the reflection like white would