CB Antenna Mount

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2]' started by jsrick80, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. jsrick80

    jsrick80 Full Access Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    This topic has been briefly touched in a few past posts, but I know in the last several months people have came up with improved ideas about where to mount their CB Antenna.

    I'm personally not a fan of roof mounting or third brake light mount due to height restrictions and getting it ripped off while off road.

    I'm also not a fan of the front good mount because it's not super clean looking due to the height of the available mounts.

    So far I'm leaning towards one of the rear stake pocket mounts for the bed.

    Please throw in a few other locations if you tried something else.

    Thank you!!

    What other ways have you mounted your antenna?
     
  2. Thomas_JohnDoe

    Thomas_JohnDoe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago
    Check this out
    breedlovemounts
    I just ordered EZN stake pocket bracket
     
    Robtor310 likes this.
  3. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA
    Thats the mount im using. Works great. Shot it with some black spray paint.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. jsrick80

    jsrick80 Full Access Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Nice @Robtor310. Unless Someone has done something else, I will probably be going with that one as well.

    What kind of connection did you use for that angle (standard or the firering).

    What location did you mount your CB and how long of a cable do you suggest?

    I was thinking about getting a Cobra 75, mounting it in my center console (using my 12V cig plug) and running the cable under the carpet, out the rear cab vent, and through the frame.
    Any tips would be appreciated.

    Thanks!!
     
  5. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA
    I believe I just got the standard one for the PL-259 style connection. A 25 foot cable is plenty. I ran the cable down the stake pocket and in between the fender well and the bedside. On the SCAB theres a grommet under the drivers seat that I entered the cab through. I notched the grommet and sealed it with RTV. I didnt run though the frame but I did parallel the stock harness for a bit. If you have a SCREW you just have to find which entry/exit point works for you.

    The power comes from the passenger foot well tapped to Aux 1 @ 15A which fo rmy ICOM 880 is enough current. Id double check to see how much amperage that Cobra pulls and see how much the cig lighter can handle.

    The ICOM 880 has a removable face and its in my sun glass holder. The line for that runs down the A pillar. All of this comes together in my console where the base unit is mounted. I had to take out both seats and loosen the console to run everything under the carpet and come up through the bottom of the console.

    If you need any more info just holler.
     
  6. jsrick80

    jsrick80 Full Access Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
  7. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA
    I really didnt even know that one existed to be honest. In hindsight, although the same functionally, I think id still go with the Breedlove. It simply looks cleaner to me. The other one seems a tad bigger? If so it may come over the outer edge too much, also on the inside edge this one literally butts right up to the the seal on my Bakflip too.
     
  8. jsrick80

    jsrick80 Full Access Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    I ordered all of my products and today Pat from Right Channel Radios called me. He was awesome, but suggested that I do a No ground plane setup instead; due to the aluminum body. Did you do this? Im going to research on the topic and see what others have done.
     
  9. Robtor310

    Robtor310 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    809
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    Redondo Beach CA
    I grounded to the framerail. On the drivers side rear theres a bolt with a couple other things grounded there. I joined that party.

    You can go the No Ground Plane route too but those type of antennas may in some case s require tuning. Not a big deal
     
  10. Smokeshow60

    Smokeshow60 SgtMajor of the MemeCorps Supporting Member

    Posts:
    695
    Likes Received:
    380
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    Southern Ohio
    Pretty sure all cb antennas regardless of gp need swr tuning.
     

Share This Page