GEN 2 Brown Silky Layer in Coolant Degas Bottle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

yulolimum

Reaction score
Hi all!

TLDR: There is thick brown (latte colored) layer of silky residue inside as well as some leaks around the large bottom hose coming off of the degas bottle. Just looking for some pointers on what to check next to diagnose.

Full Story:
I purchased a leadfoot raptor last september - 76k miles - clean truck with some bolt-on mods. I want to believe I did all the due diligence before committing to the purchase, but I'd be lying - I checked the normal stuff you'd check but I'm no mechanic. The first signs that something was wrong were really loud fan noises and an occasional coolant readout temp at around 230deg. I decided to remove the Cobb degas cover and discovered that the coolant was very low, the bottle looked very aged, not very see-through, and what looked like gunk build-up.
IMG_20230219_185702_878.jpg

Draining the fluid, it was dark orange - from what I gathered this was the old coolant color prior to their transition to yellow. I cleaned the degas as best I could. I did a full coolant system flush with the new yellow fluid. I went through probably 12 gallons of fill, warm-up/run car, drain, repeat.

For the past few months, everything was fine - the coolant levels held, the coolant color remained yellow.

Yesterday, I started the car to warm it up, did a trip to the store, and when I came back i found brown sludge on my gravel driveway - kind of looked like bright mud if that makes sense. Didn't think much of it. However, after another drive today, I found another spot with the brown "mud". Popped the hood and boom, same brown residue is around the hose that drops down from the degas bottle, almost like it was being sprayed under pressure.