Best intercooler

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Michelleandrews

FRF Lady
FRF Lady
Reaction score
What is the best aftermarket intercooler for the gen 2. I'm leaning towards the Whipple because Ford used it on the f22 F-150 raptor. Is there any good deals on an intercooler? Thanks for the help.

reaper1441

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I used to build intercoolers for a living and I bought a svc. It is made by cbr one of the best charge cooler manufacturers to ever exist and the only intercooler that fits high up enough to fit their bumper. It also moves the EBOV to the intercooler end tank and has the shortest piping by far.

Realisticly though if you have stock turbos you'll be hard pressed to have issues with a stock intercooler.

zombiekiller

OG BooBooRunner
Reaction score
https://www.svcoffroad.com/product-page/2017-svcoffroad-i-c
There's a good recent discussion on the SVC I/C merits on FRF

as someone who has had the Full Race IC and now has the SVC Intercooler, I'd go SVC.

Why?

1. The SVC IC tucks WAYYYYYY tighter.

2. The SVC IC relocates the blow off valve to the upper Driver's side corner of the IC. The Full Race IC has the BOV all the way at the bottom where it can get the crap kicked out of it.

3. The inlet and outlet on the svc IC are angled back, whichallows the piping and elbows to tuck up way higher.

4. the cruise control bracket on the SVC is way more thought out.

5. You don't have to stretch the wires ( for the BOV and Cruise control sensor) at all with the SVC. You have to unclip them and reroute them on the Full Race.

So far, I'm not seeing more than 3-4 degrees difference ( warmer ) out of the SVC when compared to the full race. ( when comparing ambient air temp to IAT)

That is a pretty negligible difference IMO. I'm happily taking that trade off.