Bad Drivetrain

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

brown baron

Reaction score
I recently got a 4x4 check warning on my 2018 raptor which resulted in loss of the ability to select drive modes as well as 4A, 4H, 4L, etc and also having the rear diff. on permanently. Along with this the truck drivetrain grinds as you shift between park, reverse, and drive.

So I took the truck into the dealership and they're currently blaming all of this on the lights I have wired onto the truck. They claim that due to bad wiring, which I've had on the truck for the 3 years of ownership, it's shorting the entire truck and causing the drivetrain issues. I'm not an expert here but I find it hard to believe aux lighting is causing issues with my drivetrain.

Can anyone prove me wrong here? The dealership's trying to void my extended drivetrain warranty by pointing fingers at my lights...

CoronaRaptor

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Did you wire them through the factory switches and ground them properly, if so, tell them to pound sand. If you ran the wires in the factory wire looms and it shorted out, then I can see where they are standing. Sounds like something with the transfer case.

MdnytRyder

Reaction score
Did you wire them through the factory switches and ground them properly, if so, tell them to pound sand. If you ran the wires in the factory wire looms and it shorted out, then I can see where they are standing. Sounds like something with the transfer case.
I second this comment.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
OP
B

brown baron

Reaction score
Everything was wired to the below overview and grounded properly. If bad wiring was the source of the problem, wouldn't the issues have popped up years ago when the lights were first installed?!

2018 Wire Colors

Aux 1 - Green/White - 15A
Aux 2 - Brown/Blue - 15A
Aux 3 - Gray/Yellow - 10A