GEN 2 Anyone have Raptor Computer Network Woes

Discussion in 'Ford F-150 Raptor General Discussions [GEN 2]' started by GLFSHNT, Dec 5, 2017.

  1. Smokeshow60

    Smokeshow60 SgtMajor of the MemeCorps Supporting Member

    Posts:
    695
    Likes Received:
    377
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    Southern Ohio
    Without doubt.
     
  2. Dildo Schwaggins

    Dildo Schwaggins Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Who wouldn't?
     
    Smokeshow60 likes this.
  3. Aaron

    Aaron Meme Corps Commandant

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    13,164
    Likes Received:
    7,456
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    [​IMG]
     
  4. MJslasherADMIN

    MJslasherADMIN Full Access Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    327
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    If you have a rental, 30 day rule does not apply in many states. Trust me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. lightman02

    lightman02 Full Access Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    When you have multiple codes like that usually the first code that comes up is associated to the module taking out the whole network. The other cause is loose wiring on one of the connectors or even broken ones. Have to be on the look out for mice when it gets cold out. They should be able to view the network activity with a scope and wiggle some stuff around to see when it drops. It can be a tough job but shouldn't take days.
     
  6. Smokeshow60

    Smokeshow60 SgtMajor of the MemeCorps Supporting Member

    Posts:
    695
    Likes Received:
    377
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    Southern Ohio
    Multiple codes like what?
     
  7. lightman02

    lightman02 Full Access Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    When you have multiple lights coming on and loss of control to certain things in the vehicle there will be multiple codes generated for all the failures in various modules. Even the power windows and locks have a module in each door that controls that function, they all talk on the same network and all generate failure codes. These codes cannot also be read on a normal OBD2 scanner but Forscan can probably read them. When you have a network or electrical failure a bunch of codes will generate for each module but finding the wire or module pulling down the whole network is tricky. These devices are all connected together in a loop, they are not isolated like normal Ethernet networks. Finding the module or wiring effecting these systems is a pain in the ass. But you usually start with the module that threw the first code in the list for good practice.
     
  8. Smokeshow60

    Smokeshow60 SgtMajor of the MemeCorps Supporting Member

    Posts:
    695
    Likes Received:
    377
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    Southern Ohio
    Do you think the dealer that told the op that there was a "network " problem could read codes with ids? Don't you think they would tell him before coming up with a story like that. And btw all sorts of codes coming up from everywhere is usually ecu failure.
     
  9. lightman02

    lightman02 Full Access Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    No, I don't think a shop is going to list all the codes for the customer, yes they can either read them or they can read nothing. Also multiple codes is not always ECU failure, ECU failure is actually pretty rare.
     
  10. Smokeshow60

    Smokeshow60 SgtMajor of the MemeCorps Supporting Member

    Posts:
    695
    Likes Received:
    377
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    Southern Ohio
    So you think a dealer is going to find a bunch of codes then not relay that information to the customer and instead make up a story about a network issue? Sounds legitimate. And ecu failure is a much more common diagnosis for "codes coming from everywhere " than one "first in line " failure as you stated.
     

Share This Page