Aluminum vs Steel Skid Plates

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

B E N

FRF Addict
Reaction score
The rci ones for the gas tank and any of the underbody stuff. I like the ADD bumpers for the front skid protection. I know there are quite a few alloys of each material to choose from (I work as an aerospace engineer) but the info on which alloy each company uses for each part seems limited if available at all. And even then, what spec of powder coat and how they end up making it can change how they work significantly. Just lookin for some real world experience from people like @zombiekiller cause the specs don't always tell the full story but they are a good thing to consider. Thanks again for the input.
There is a great book on this by Carroll Smith called "engineer to win" it is specifically on automotive materials.

OP
OP
N

Nick9323

Reaction score
foutz did a really great job on the skids. When I ordered them, it was before there were a lot of modified Gen2s out there.

I sent them a picture of where the skid for my SVC bumper ended. They got the skid designed, cut and shipped in 2 days from a picture.

When I installed them, the gap from bumper skid to foutz skid was a clean 1/8" and perfect.

Greg and team are who campaigned the Gen2 raptor in the Baja 1000. The skids that they sell are identical to what they ran on the stock class race truck.

If they'll survive the baja 1000 for foutz and 8 trips to baja on my truck ( about 10K baja miles on my truck), they'll absolutely stand up to whatever you can throw at them.

I honestly called foutz right after I did raptor assault. They had the gen2 race truck in the showroom there. I looked under it, saw the skids, and was told that foutz made them. i called and ordered them while waiting for my flight at the airport.