Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


GEN 2 2018 Sync is DOA

Discussion in 'Ford F-150 Raptor General Discussions [GEN 2]' started by dgr810, Sep 21, 2020.

  1. Christopher Manns

    Christopher Manns Full Access Member

    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Washington
    I'm not sure that's totally true. I have an '18 and it only got updates to 3.0xxxx however, I manually formatted it and updated it to 3.4. So I think the Software setup may be different (requiring "heroic efforts") but I think the hardware is basically the same.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2020
  2. Donmatteo

    Donmatteo FRF Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    881
    Likes Received:
    722
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Location:
    Santa Clarita
    These are the 2018-2019 APMI part numbers

    APIM Part Numbers:
    JL3T-14G370-HKB,
    JL3T-14G370-GJF,
    JL3T-14G370-GjG,
    JS7T-14G371-BDC,
    JS7T-14G371-KED,
    HJ7T-14F370-FCC,
    JR3T-14G370-ABG

    They vary based on screen size, Nav or no Nav, etc.
     
  3. Christopher Manns

    Christopher Manns Full Access Member

    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Washington
    ah, I see why the parts would be different...I'm a software guy :) It's all about firmware and os for me . LOL
     
    Donmatteo likes this.
  4. FordTechOne

    FordTechOne FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Location:
    Detroit
    The hardware is different, which is why the updates depend on model year/APIM part number. Installing unsupported software can lead to various functionality issues.
     
    Donmatteo likes this.
  5. FordTechOne

    FordTechOne FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Location:
    Detroit
    Correct, the APIM is Fuse 32 in the BCM.

    Did you buy the truck new or used? Turbocharger oil consumption is not a common issue, although it’s always possible to get a defective unit. Not sure how you had rust in the exhaust tips, considering the exhaust is stainless steel and coated. Strange.

    There is no “clutch module”, maybe you’re referring to the TCM being updated with new software? I have seen people accidentally press the “-“ button on the shifter, which incrementally locks out gear with each press. That results in the truck not up shifting past the gear selected unless the “+” button is pressed to unlock gears or the ignition is cycled.

    The premature failure of the sway bar end links is another one off.
     
  6. dgr810

    dgr810 Member

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Location:
    01541
    I’ve owned the truck since new.

    The new Control module fixed the issue. Conveniently also found a way to turn off auto stop - unplug the button - at least this worked while my whole dash was apart and the button was not plugged in.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Donmatteo likes this.

Share This Page