Can I afford a Raptor?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Boo_gee

Reaction score
Hi everybody.

I've never had a job that paid well until last week. I got hired at an oil company and will now make 120k a year.

The roads to are bad and i drive a 7hr commute to the camps. I stay for 10 days then drive 7hrs home and relax for 4 days.

I just want to know if my annual salary allows me to now own and drive a raptor even with all the bad gas mileage. I'm very new to money so am I totally worrying for no reason?

How much will a raptor cost me every year Total (finance, insurance and gas)?

willis68

Full Access Member
Reaction score
With your salary if you do not have 12 kids and 6 other car payments you should be fine!

Congrats on your job I have been in the industry for the last 12 years

WarSurfer

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Hi everybody.

I've never had a job that paid well until last week. I got hired at an oil company and will now make 120k a year.

The roads to are bad and i drive a 7hr commute to the camps. I stay for 10 days then drive 7hrs home and relax for 4 days.

I just want to know if my annual salary allows me to now own and drive a raptor even with all the bad gas mileage. I'm very new to money so am I totally worrying for no reason?

How much will a raptor cost me every year Total (finance, insurance and gas)?

Not trying to split hairs but what you can 'pay for' and what you can 'afford' aren't the same.

If you want to see how much of your income is available for transportation, you need to do the math. Figure out how much you will lose to taxes first. Then subtract 10-15% for retirement (I'd say more but you are young and wouldn't listen anyway), next subtract your monthly expenses - everything - cell, rent/mortgage, insurance, food, etc... Whatever you have left is what you can 'afford'.