Outlaw Offroad Stock Shock Guard Install

• Thread starter Deleted member 12951
  • Start date

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

D

Deleted member 12951

I posted this in the "What did U do to your raptor today" thread but thought it would help to do a double-post in this section incase anyone is looking at installing these and decides to use the Search feature here. I am a novice when it comes to handy work like this but I gave it a shot and here is my quick write up.....

After going to TRR and already seeing how the rear shock guards started to get torn up decided to install these shock guards. Something with just 6 total bolt screws should of taken 15 minutes, so I thought. I fought with the first one for over an hour and threw in the towel and start calling shops. You know after ******** with something so simple for so long, you would rather just pay someone and get it over with? Well called a couple shops and were too busy for Saturday work. So took a long shit and decided to tackle it again. Once I finally got one side done and learned a few things the other side went a lot quicker.

You need an allen wrench to remove the factory bolts holding the plastic shock guard on. Not sure on the exact size, I just brought a set to it and used the one that fit.

The replacement ones from Outlaw are longer to account for the thickness of their guard and is 11mm.

I also used blue locktite as I saw it was on the factory ones. Because it took me too long, I am sure quite a bit didn't stay on for me.

Lessons learned:
1. Start on the outside one since you can't really see the threads due to the tire and leave it real loose. I didn't want to mess with jacking the truck up and removing the tire just to install these.