Wiring lights in a series

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ni9mm

FRF Addict
Reaction score
This is a total newb electrical question. If you wire two lights, say two led cubes into one harness as opposed to using two separate harnesses running to the same battery is there any energy loss to the lights ?

I pretty sure the answer is no but I'm curious to know for sure. To better illustrate my question if I had six individual led strips with six red positive wires and same negative, then wired them to each other then to the battery with a single positive and negative wire would there be any power lost to each led ?

This may be the single most convoluted retarded question I've ever asked. Go ahead laugh with me. [emoji4]

JJ f150harley

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This is a total newb electrical question. If you wire two lights, say two led cubes into one harness as opposed to using two separate harnesses running to the same battery is there any energy loss to the lights ?

I pretty sure the answer is no but I'm curious to know for sure. To better illustrate my question if I had six individual led strips with six red positive wires and same negative, then wired them to each other then to the battery with a single positive and negative wire would there be any power lost to each led ?

This may be the single most convoluted retarded question I've ever asked. Go ahead laugh with me. [emoji4]

Its not stupid, ive done it with 8 4ft led strips like you said and it didn't affect the brightness at all. Just make sure you use decent size wire from the strips to the battery. ie, if the wire from the strip is 20g then run 14-16g to the battery, this will keep the right power flowing.

Not an electrical expert, just my 0.02![emoji41]

OP
OP
Ni9mm

Ni9mm

FRF Addict
Reaction score