Need help with light plan

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bratch

Reaction score
Guys I'm a long time light junkie, home lights, flashlights, weapons lights you name it. Given this the first thing I want to attack on my new truck is the auxiliary lighting. I'd love any ideas, comments or suggestions on my plan, I'm new to this world.

I have a 2014 Screw with HIDs. It currently has a NFab RSP Prerunner front bumper with 4 6" KC Daylighters halogen lights. I'm not sure what the beam pattern is on them. Two of these are on Aux 1 and two are on Aux 2. Aux 3 is not in use and Aux 4 has LED strip lights in the hood grates.

I really like the look of the old school KCs and would like to keep the round style.

My original thought was to replace the KCs with either LEDs or HIDs and get them all on a single switch to free another up. I hadn't gotten much further than that.

I'm currently thinking about keeping the KCs halogen and changing out the glass. I'd change the outer two to fog lights and the inner two to 130W driving lights. Doing this I'd keep them on separate switches to be able to use the fog lights.

I want to put a pair of HID or LED spot lights on a hood mount these would go on AUX 3. I'm looking at 4" Baja Fuego or 4" VisonX light cannons.

Eventually I plan to change out the rear bumper to one that includes built in LEDs, something like a Rogue Revolver. This would go on Aux 4.

Does this sound like a solid lighting plan? Anything else I should be looking at?

Nick@Apollo-Optics

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Hey there @Bratch, hopefully I can help.

First off, if you look at the lenses of your current Daylighters, you'll be able to tell if you have a spot or spread pattern by looking at the lens.

If the lens is completely smooth, like the one pictured below, you've got a spot pattern.

Spot Pattern