Sway Bar End Links Replacement Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gumart1

Reaction score
Anyone replace their sway bar links? I have a low speed crunch sound that I'm betting is the end links. Anybody post the procedure with/without pics? I'm a beginner when it comes to repairs, but this seems like a DIY job. I've searched the forum but no luck.

Is it just the two nuts on either end? I've seen some videos of other models where a tie rod puller is needed.

Looks like I can do this with the wheels on and the truck on the ground.

mmaterni

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It is just the two nuts and may be able to be completed while the truck is on the ground but will be much easier with the truck on a stand and a jack cycling the suspension.

OP
OP
G

Gumart1

Reaction score
For those of you who are not handy like me, this was an easy swap. I used an 18mm open ended wrench on the nut and an 8mm socket at the end of the stem to stop the entire assembly from spinning. 120k miles on my 2010 SCAB and the nuts came off easily with a quick spray of Liquid Wrench and a rubber hammer to get it started. No need to jack up the truck or the suspension. Once both nuts are off, the assembly slides out easily. There is no need to raise the truck or jack up the suspension. Just make sure to turn the steering wheel all the way to each side for easy access.

I am skeptical when it comes to claims of dramatic improvements, but changing these inexpensive links 100% fixed my low speed noise over bumps. Very rewarding fix.

jamanrr

FRF Addict
Reaction score