Longer Oil Filter

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AZEngineer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am using Amsoil EAO11 filters on my 6.2L Raptor. They are shockingly small. It seems like there is plenty of room for a taller filter in the engine bay. IF you look at a cut apart EAO11 the filter media is quite a bit shorter than the can. If I got a filter 50% taller it would have almost double the filter area which should increase oil flow.

Anyone else look at how small the filter is and wonder if a bigger one would help?

Anyone have a part number that fits?

MatMan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Affirm! That's what's I was thinking.

In fact I took a second + extra looooong gander at the non ford motorcraft filter version and I'll be honest, you took the words right outta my mouth.

Way undersized, but I'm No engineer, so purely speculation from this angle.

M@

Last edited:

Huck

FRF Addict
Reaction score
a larger filter with the same size media would have to effect on oil flow. in order to increase flow you would need a more porous filter and that would leave more crud to get through in effect filter less.

OP
OP
AZEngineer

AZEngineer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm an engineer and a larger filter with the same media WILL improve flow. The same way more pleats help flow in an oil or air filter. There are three ways to increase flow in an oil filter.
1) A media that flows easier but that seems to always come with lower filter effeciency (more dirt gets through)
2) More Media in the filter. That's either more pleats (more filter area) or you could do the same number of pleats and make the filter media taller.
3) A higher pressure oil pump.

TBONE21

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just run the ford racing filters. Really nice oil filter

BAJASVT

FRF Addict
Reaction score