Best long term storage options?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chowder

Reaction score
Newbie here. Question about storing my truck long term. In the next few months I am going to be placing an order for a Raptor and had a question about long term storage and hoping someone might have some good input.
I travel for work and it will be sitting for 10 months out of the year. I have someone that will take it out for a spin every few months, and I am pretty well educated on storing it. Such as keeping rodents out, topping off fluids, changing the oil, wiper blades ect. all that good stuff preparing to let it sit.

I live in the northeast where we have all 4 seasons, very hot to very cold. I have a weather tight, UN-insulated, 2 car barn that I will be making into a garage. Spray insulation, new garage doors, Sheetrock, plaster and redoing the concrete floor nicely etc.
The the temps outside can be anywhere from 15-95 degrees throughout the seasons. My main concern was temps, I have come to realize my concern should be more of humidity control. Money is somewhat of a concern, why am I buying a loaded Raptor for 65K and not paying to have it immaculately stored? Lets not get into the reasoning of the sickness in my head! By that I mean, I am not going to pay a dump load for a massive unit to keep it at a perfect 70 degrees 365 days out of the year.
I am thinking I can get by with a small portable A/C and heat unit that wont break the bank on initial and run cost and still keep it between 45-80 degrees. They will only have to run 3-4 months each a year, spring and fall are at an ok temp with none of them running.
The main thing I need is a dehumidifier most of the year. Any idea what it might cost to run these things in a new insulated garage? It is a standard size, 2 car garage space. Anyone out there know about HVAC or electrical?