Wheel spacers...really?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Talon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so i was approached by a guy that was very excited to see my truck and find out what it was. so as we were talking he asked if it had wheel spacers to get the extra width over stock f150's...i was a little shocked that he thought wheel spacers would be on this truck after looking it over. I told him no it doesnt use spacers for travel and he told me i should put some on for extra if the fenders will allow it. I dont think this to be a very good idea as i beat my truck last weekend in the Barstow run and jumped it a few times.....but i have never done spacers before and i dont think they would stand up to the abuse i put the truck through. Anyone have any insight on this? sounds a little crazy to me.....

BigJ

FRF Addict
Reaction score
No no no. Our track width is already insanely wide. And anyway, you can't add spacers without affecting articulation angles (spacers wide enough to make a difference anyway).

Bad idea for the Raptor, no matter how you slice it. The guy is a maroon.

OP
OP
Talon

Talon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
kinda of what i thought too....adding wheel spacers to a purpose built, $50k, offroad truck seems a little dumb to me but i had to ask since i have never ran spacers on anything before.....

BigJ

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I've run spacers before on high performance road race vehicles, but we're talking 3mm or so; just enough to help clear a knuckle or bolt head under hard cornering or some such.

But for looks? I just can't see it, especially on the Raptor who's track is already ridiculously wide. Having said that though, I do know there are good reasons to add substantial spacers to the smaller track vehicles. I'll leave it to the Jeep guys to explain why.

FordFanStan

Full Access Member