Don't know what to do. Buy a 1st gen or wait for the 2nd gen

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Loso

Reaction score
I'm new to trucks. Have always drove cars. Now I am tired of sitting so low and want to be up high. Every time I see a Raptor I cant help to stare at it. My problem is I know nothing about trucks. Nothing about V8's vs Eco boost. So I don't know if I should just buy now or wait to see if I like the 2nd gens. Anyone else have the same thoughts? Does anyone have an incite on why the 1st gen are going to be better then the 2nd gen? thanx

aschaeferusn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My plan is to buy a 1st gen here in the next couple of months, see what the 2nd gen is like and possibly buy the 2nd or 3rd model year (or a used 2017) after theyre released.

Taxman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I recommend you go to Enterprise rental car, rent a Ford F-150 and try it out for a weekend. If you've never driven trucks and know nothing about them, how do you know you'll like driving one? They drive very differently than cars.

Spend $200 on a rental car before you drop $60k on a truck you may not like.

Just my 2 cents.

If you decide to ignore this advice, then it doesn't matter whether you buy the current model or the next gen because you've never driven either and wouldn't feel the difference between a large-block V-8 and an EBV6. But you need to keep one thing in mind: you came to a Ford Raptor Forum where all the members have the current generation Raptor and all of them love their trucks - some a little too much. So take the advice with a grain of salt. I would just get the one you like more.

Big Blue

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Supporting Member
Reaction score