Go Back   FORD RAPTOR FORUM - Ford SVT Raptor Forums - Ford Raptor > Ford Raptor Forums - General Information > Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Supporting Vendor

Register to remove these ads.


Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum

Where to get +12v remote turn on wire?


This is a discussion on Where to get +12v remote turn on wire? within the Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum forums, part of the Ford Raptor Forums - General Information category!
Originally Posted by BIRDMAN how would i gain access to the feed wires to the front power supply? couldn't I ...


User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 10:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
 
Hockster's Avatar
My 45ft Bluewater Party


 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winchester, Va
Age: 59
Posts: 4,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by BIRDMAN View Post
how would i gain access to the feed wires to the front power supply? couldn't I just splice in to the fuse with a 16g wire?
Yep... That will work... Ummm.. i might use a 14...... What is the draw of the amp? and I would add a inline fuse to your amp






__________________
2012 Red Screw... My customized ADD rear bumperwith fog lights from a Jag :) as backup lights, ADD front race bumper, my own custom CAI, F/R Icon Shocks, Icon bump stop, WSI HD rear springs, 83000 lumens of BAJA lights, Bedslide for all my stuff and A.R.E overland cap
Check out my build page

http://www.fordraptorforum.com/f65/h...r-build-14948/

Porcelain Black... Go Detroit!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9LCHgpzfxQ
Hockster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 10:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,907
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
Just run it along the door sill and up the dash, but if you want to mess with all the spagetti around the fuses. Have at it. :)
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
jdowens1's Avatar
Ford Senior Master Technician

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
What about feeding it off of the audio module or ignition switch? Are you trying to do the shortest run possible? I was thinking the window power is controlled by the accessory delay relay but the rear window switches are powered by the master window switch.
jdowens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Originally Posted by Hockster View Post
Yep... That will work... Ummm.. i might use a 14...... What is the draw of the amp? and I would add a inline fuse to your amp
this is only for the remote turn on wire and 16ga is more than sufficient. the remote turn on is just a signal line to the amp that tells the amp to power up. the main power and ground are 8ga with a 30a inline fuse within 18" of the main battery connection. don't worry, i learned my lesson about fuses when i was about 16 and installed my first amp without an inline fuse...the smoke billowing out of my trunk was a clear indication that something wasn't good lol

---------- Post added at 12:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

Originally Posted by jdowens1 View Post
What about feeding it off of the audio module or ignition switch? Are you trying to do the shortest run possible? I was thinking the window power is controlled by the accessory delay relay but the rear window switches are powered by the master window switch.
this sounds great but how? i need someone to point to a wire and say "this one!"

---------- Post added at 12:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
Just run it along the door sill and up the dash, but if you want to mess with all the spagetti around the fuses. Have at it. :)
how can i get behind the 12V power plug on the dash? is there an easy way to pop it out and snake a wire down under the dash?


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,907
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
Remove your glove box. Just 3 screws I believe and look to your left.
I think you might be able to reach it that way but I'm not 100% sure. Just trying to go off memory you know I'm 40 so it's getting bad.
This would be the least complicated way I hope to get at it.
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
Remove your glove box. Just 3 screws I believe and look to your left.
I think you might be able to reach it that way but I'm not 100% sure. Just trying to go off memory you know I'm 40 so it's getting bad.
This would be the least complicated way I hope to get at it.
and we're sure the front power supply turns on with the ignition on and off when it's off?


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,907
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by BIRDMAN View Post
and we're sure the front power supply turns on with the ignition on and off when it's off?
Plug something in it. I'm not sure cause I never use mine.

---------- Post added at 12:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:43 PM ----------

There is 2 up there I believe. Use the one next to the glove box to it's in reach.
Let me run outside real quick here.
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
i will sit here on my couch. lmk


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,907
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
DICK! lol
OK Just checked and there is constant power to BOTH up front.
The one next to the glove box can be reached very easily but I know you want/need something that turns on with the ignition so this is out of the question.
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
jdowens1's Avatar
Ford Senior Master Technician

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by BIRDMAN View Post
i will sit here on my couch. lmk
When you remove the audio module there is a connector in the back that has about 15 wires going to it. there is a grey wire with violet tracer that is going to be hot with the key in start or run position. There is also a blue wire that is the delay accessory wire so you will have 12volts with the key on and running then it will stay powered up when the key is off with the radio and when the radio shuts off so will the amp.
jdowens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Tags
12v, amp, ford raptor, fuses, remote wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the blue wire for? Bullishone Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 7 10-05-2011 10:10 AM
How to wire rear lights? whtrapta Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 24 06-13-2011 10:05 PM
TSB 10-13-4: 2010 Ford Raptor SYNC Non-Navigation - No Turn By Turn and/or Unable to Find Location BigJ Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum 0 05-26-2011 12:12 PM
New wire thru firewall FlounderStalker Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 12 06-27-2010 12:39 AM
Upfitter wire access? BigJ Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 7 03-23-2010 02:25 PM



GM Truck Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Land Rover Forum
Scion FR-S Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum