Go Back   FORD RAPTOR FORUM - Ford SVT Raptor Forums - Ford Raptor > Ford Raptor Forums - General Information > Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Supporting Vendor

Register to remove these ads.


Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum

Where to get +12v remote turn on wire?


This is a discussion on Where to get +12v remote turn on wire? within the Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum forums, part of the Ford Raptor Forums - General Information category!
I need to tap in to get a 12v amp turn on wire when the ignition is switched on. I ...


User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,896
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default Where to get +12v remote turn on wire?
I need to tap in to get a 12v amp turn on wire when the ignition is switched on. I don't want to use an AUX switch. Any thoughts?






__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 08:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,908
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
you going to run both amps? If not steel it from your other amp/sub.
If you are running both maybe use a relay and have it triggered by the stock amp but run another power wire from the battery.
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,896
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
you going to run both amps? If not steel it from your other amp/sub.
If you are running both maybe use a relay and have it triggered by the stock amp but run another power wire from the battery.
the stock sub amp(i think) has constant 12v power. i stuck my tester in the harness and it was showing voltage with the truck off

---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
you going to run both amps? If not steel it from your other amp/sub.
If you are running both maybe use a relay and have it triggered by the stock amp but run another power wire from the battery.
the stock sub amp harness has 5 wires: 12v constant power, ground, 5V remote turn on(not enough for my new amp) and the + / - speaker leads. i stuck my tester in the +12v wire in the harness and it was showing voltage with the truck off.

my JL amp does have a feature where it will auto turn on when it senses voltage through the speaker leads but they manual recommends using that feature only when absolutely necessary because it's not as reliable as a hard wired 12V remote wire.


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,908
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by BIRDMAN View Post
the stock sub amp(i think) has constant 12v power. i stuck my tester in the harness and it was showing voltage with the truck off
Hmmmm. Really?
I would think that would drain the battery but what do I know.
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
Hockster's Avatar
My 45ft Bluewater Party


 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winchester, Va
Age: 59
Posts: 4,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
What Iron said or what about the rear power supply. Easy to get to and its fused with a 30


__________________
2012 Red Screw... My customized ADD rear bumperwith fog lights from a Jag :) as backup lights, ADD front race bumper, my own custom CAI, F/R Icon Shocks, Icon bump stop, WSI HD rear springs, 83000 lumens of BAJA lights, Bedslide for all my stuff and A.R.E overland cap
Check out my build page

http://www.fordraptorforum.com/f65/h...r-build-14948/

Porcelain Black... Go Detroit!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9LCHgpzfxQ
Hockster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,896
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
Hmmmm. Really?
I would think that would drain the battery but what do I know.
i responded to your question in a bass-ackwards way. the stock amp does have a remote turn on(therefore it's not "on" when the truck is off) but the stock remote turn on is only 5V and will not be enough to trigger my aftermarket amp.

---------- Post added at 09:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

Originally Posted by Hockster View Post
What Iron said or what about the rear power supply. Easy to get to and its fused with a 30
the rear "cigarette lighter"?


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
IRONMAN's Avatar
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MICHIGAN
Age: 45
Posts: 8,908
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)

Default
The rear cig lighter has constant power. I use it to run my security camera but I use a switch to turn on and off.
IRONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,896
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
The rear cig lighter has constant power. I use it to run my security camera but I use a switch to turn on and off.
that's what i thought. did Hock mean something else?


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Hockster's Avatar
My 45ft Bluewater Party


 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winchester, Va
Age: 59
Posts: 4,965
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by IRONMAN View Post
The rear cig lighter has constant power. I use it to run my security camera but I use a switch to turn on and off.
Hmm.. Ok.. Thought it was like the front... Well then how about the front power supply... and ya its not a cig lighter and more come bird get with the times!!! ha ha ha ha ha.....


__________________
2012 Red Screw... My customized ADD rear bumperwith fog lights from a Jag :) as backup lights, ADD front race bumper, my own custom CAI, F/R Icon Shocks, Icon bump stop, WSI HD rear springs, 83000 lumens of BAJA lights, Bedslide for all my stuff and A.R.E overland cap
Check out my build page

http://www.fordraptorforum.com/f65/h...r-build-14948/

Porcelain Black... Go Detroit!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9LCHgpzfxQ
Hockster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 10:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
BIRDMAN's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12,896
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Originally Posted by Hockster View Post
Hmm.. Ok.. Thought it was like the front... Well then how about the front power supply... and ya its not a cig lighter and more come bird get with the times!!! ha ha ha ha ha.....
how would i gain access to the feed wires to the front power supply? couldn't I just splice in to the fuse with a 16g wire?


__________________


Help Support FRF - Become A FRF Supporting Member!

Get Your FRF Decals

Play slow pitch softball? Check out Softball Forum!
BIRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Tags
12v, amp, ford raptor, fuses, remote wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the blue wire for? Bullishone Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 7 10-05-2011 10:10 AM
How to wire rear lights? whtrapta Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 24 06-13-2011 10:05 PM
TSB 10-13-4: 2010 Ford Raptor SYNC Non-Navigation - No Turn By Turn and/or Unable to Find Location BigJ Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum 0 05-26-2011 12:12 PM
New wire thru firewall FlounderStalker Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 12 06-27-2010 12:39 AM
Upfitter wire access? BigJ Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 7 03-23-2010 02:25 PM



GM Truck Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Land Rover Forum
Scion FR-S Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum