replacing loss key? dealer programming needed?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

c4sxm5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
purchased a used 12 Raptor and the previous owner only sent me 1 key? local dealer states new key will cost $160 and $120 to program the new key...but after searching online it seems i could program the myself. the part that confuses me is do I need to programmed keys to program a 3rd new key? or just 1 good key to program a 2nd one?

basically trying to avoid paying the $120 programming if possible.

Rookie

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
First, I thought keys now days were stupid expensive. Second, I've heard the needing two working keys to program spares before on fords but I'm no expert.

The Car Stereo Company

aka grumpy car stereo guy
Supporting Member
Reaction score
usually all the keys need to be programmed at the same time. i dontbelieve you can just add a key whenever you want. it would require all keys present at time of programming. and that programming fee is highway robbery. my neighbor is an audi mechanic and the dealership charges close to what you were quoted, however it takes him less than 10 minutes to program the keys.

Glassman

Full Access Member
Reaction score