GEN 1 The last Ford I'll ever buy...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

trayack

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Sadly, this won't be a happy go lucky post and I'll try to keep the rant to a bare min.

To preface, I'm an LEO, so I drive ford products literally for a living....unfortunately. As I'm the shift Sergeant my vehicle in an Expedition
(when its not broken) and other times one of the Interceptor SUV's. I tried to put my poor experiences aside from our work vehicles and ended up special ordering a 2013 Raptor SCab. I was extremely hesitant in this purchase as a result of my negative experiences with our cruisers. However, I personally knew the head tech at the dealership I ordered the truck from and was more than confident in his abilities. Sadly, two years ago he was tragically killed in a sky diving accident.

Over the last few years I've experience the "normal" Raptor related issues and sort of just sucked it up....until now.

Roughly two months ago I noticed that the rear suspension seemed stiffer than I remember it ever being before, but had kind of just blown it off knowing that sometimes the cold weather will effect the shocks a bit. At the end of last month it had gotten worse and I now noticed that the truck would shudder pretty badly as the rear suspension unloaded after a bump.

Thinking maybe the vibration dampener had failed (again) I took it in to the dealership. Once there they drove the truck and also noticed that something was amiss. The dampener was intact this time, but they found that the left rear shock was not performing correctly and was actually making a fair amount of noise.