Houston we have a problem! (the bent frame thread)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bad company

Reaction score
Physics of suspension over short ridges at hihg speed = HIGH IMPACTS

Guys,
I own a Raptor, and I am a mechanical engineer who used to design shock isolation systems for shipborne electronics. I do not know the deisgn specifics for the raptor suspension (spring rates, damping rates, exact distributed weights etc.) but I am guessing that hitting an 18" ridge at high speed is one of the most punishing things that can be done to your suspension for the following reasons:

1. Your suspension at rest can only absorb about 6" of deflection before the rear axle hits the steel frame (bump stop totally flattened). the rest of your suspension is "droop", meaning that when you jump the tires move down at least 6" relative to your truck.
2. Moving at high speed means that the suspension does not have time to accelerate your truck up. Basically the tires MUST move up RIGHT NOW, but the bed of your truck does not (unlike say, a gradual ramp).
3. A short ridge (like a big speed bump) moves the tires upwards very quickly; coupled with high speed, and already partially compressed suspension means HUGE forces between the axle and frame when the two crash together.

I suspect that hitting a ridge at high speed is MUCH worse than jumping your trucks (where the suspension can extend to absorb the landing better). It is also worse than short gullies where again the suspension can extend and then absorb the impact.

Overheated shocks and loads in the bed will only make the problem worse. I'm not making a statement about whether this is abuse or not. But this kind of treatment will cause metal to bend. I know this is the last thing you want to hear, but you may want to slow down for ridges in future.

Here are the variables to consider: