Salted Roads - How do you keep rust free?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Five-O Donut Hole

FRF Addict
Reaction score
So, I just moved to Wisconsin from Texas and want to know how y'all keep your vehicle's from rusting?

I figure washing, buy how often? I am totally new to snow and salt, and want to keep my vehicles rust free.

What are YOUR best practices?

Thanks!

I'm in the northern part of Illinois so we get the crap that Wisconsin gets. Mines a daily driver and gets filthy in the winter. I wash it regularly and it stays in the garage. No rust except for the typical undercarriage surface stuff.

TheWolf

Full Access Member
Reaction score
OP
OP
TScozz

TScozz

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I really appreciate the advice y'all! I already purchased some Amsoil undercoating from @Mariner. This was truly helpful!!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

vince7870

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So, I just moved to Wisconsin from Texas and want to know how y'all keep your vehicle's from rusting?

I figure washing, buy how often? I am totally new to snow and salt, and want to keep my vehicles rust free.

What are YOUR best practices?

Thanks!

Hahaha drive your wife's car whenever snow on the ground or get a beater

Yukon Joe

FRF Addict
Reaction score
That's what I was looking for, and the second time Amsoil HDMP was mentioned. I will make sure I pick it up! THANK YOU!!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
The Amsoil HDMP is a really good product. You might want to buy a case from @Rookie. You can spray it on the shocks as well. I also recommend that you reapply every year.

The Ziebart is good as well. Will cost you a few hundred, and you won't get your hands dirty, but finding one in the Midwest may be hard. It also comes with a warranty.

@Yukon Joe :baby: :baby:
Drive your raptor here!!!!