Cleaning the Engine Bay?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mariner

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Back when I first moved to Florida, first thing I did was get my truck muddy; it was inevitable. However I went a little overboard. So a year later, my engine bay still smells like a swamp, and that's not from lack of effort. Being an engineer, I'm weary of moisture in electronics. I've seen and worked on nightmare issues from water penetration. So my question is to you venturous folk, anything simple I can spray on my engine (and hoses especially) that will cut the mud to the bone and just rinse off? Like I said, I'm nervous about any kind of pressurized spray going under the hood. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

siooss

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've power washed the mud and debris caked engine bay several times, no issues, of course avoided direct spray to fuse box and the like. Did pre-soak setting first. Once you get the stinky mud and vegetation off the top of your headers and pipes, the smell goes away quicker. Use foaming tire cleaner on the insulation blanket on bottom of hood, then power wash all the dirt away, do not use a brush on the insulation blanket.

OP
OP
Mariner

Mariner

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I've power washed the mud and debris caked engine bay several times, no issues, of course avoided direct spray to fuse box and the like. Did pre-soak setting first. Once you get the stinky mud and vegetation off the top of your headers and pipes, the smell goes away quicker. Use foaming tire cleaner on the insulation blanket on bottom of hood, then power wash all the dirt away, do not use a brush on the insulation blanket.