Go Back   FORD RAPTOR FORUM - Ford SVT Raptor Forums - Ford Raptor > GEN 2 (2017+) Ford F-150 Raptor Forums > Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2]
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Supporting Vendor

Register to remove these ads.


Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2]

AUX Switch Wires and Pass Through Wires


This is a discussion on AUX Switch Wires and Pass Through Wires within the Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2] forums, part of the GEN 2 (2017+) Ford F-150 Raptor Forums category!
Incredibly helpful! Originally Posted by WhatExit? Consolidating Upfitter Switches, Wires & Connections info into one post to help with installation ...


User Tag List

Like Tree26Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2017, 09:34 PM   #31 (permalink)
 
mmacfn's Avatar
FRF Supporting Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Show low, AZ
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Incredibly helpful!

Originally Posted by WhatExit? View Post
Consolidating Upfitter Switches, Wires & Connections info into one post to help with installation (copying and printing)...

The overhead Upfitter Switches are wired from the factory to the location under the hood on the Passenger side. These 6 Auxiliary wires are provided so you can make your connections for all accessories (e.g., lights, compressor) installed outside the Raptor.


Above image courtesy of BajaMod

If you want to use Upfitter Switches to control accessories installed inside the Raptor you can do that too. You'll use the Pass Thru wires to get the switched power back inside the Raptor cab.

To do this you need to connect the Auxilliary Wires to the Pass Thru wires (which pass through the firewall from under the hood to the interior) and then connect your accessories inside the Raptor to the ends of the Pass Thru wires which are located under the Passenger side Kick Panel.

There are 2 sets of 6 wires under the hood as shown in this excellent pic from MaxMartini:



The first set of wires are the Auxiliary wires connected to the 6 Upfitter Switches. They're on the LEFT side. These will be used when wiring up any accessories outside the Raptor.


Above graphic courtesy of Ford & BajaMod

The second bundle of wires are the Pass Thru wires which are on the RIGHT side. These will be used when wiring up any accessories inside the Raptor.

Both these wire bundles of 6 wires have corresponding (matching) colors so you can easily see how to make the proper connections when wiring up any of the Pass Thru wires. To use the Pass Thru wires you'll connect the Pass Thru wire(s) you want powered inside the cab to the Auxilliary wire(s) under the hood. You'll obviously only connect the Pass Thru wire(s) if you plan on using one or more of them inside the Raptor.


Above graphic courtesy of BajaMod

You'll need to remove the Passenger Side Kick Panel to locate and pull down the Pass Thru wires inside the cab so you can make your connections there.

Here's another great pic from MaxMartini showing the Passenger Side Kick Panel and the Pass Thru wires where they are bundled together:



Notes:
* Each switch already has a relay and a fuse installed. If you do not plan on exceeding the amp draw of the fuse for each switch, you do not need to install the relay that comes with your accessories.

* Be sure not to exceed the amperage for each circuit. You will want to choose the circuit that most closely matches your device amp draw without going over. You may want to insert a lower wattage fuse for small devices so that your device is not way over fused. It is also a good idea to carry a few extra fuses of assorted amperage in your truck in case something blows a fuse.

Reference info:







Link to BajaMod info: BajaMod
jsrick80 likes this.




mmacfn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 11:22 PM   #32 (permalink)
 
Toadster's Avatar
FRF Supporting Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Folsom, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
it's all here :)

https://www.bajamod.com/feature-wiring-switches.php


Toadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 01:06 PM   #33 (permalink)
 
Clockton's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Northern CA.
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
I am losing my mind trying to find the pass through wires in the cab of my '18. I can't find the bundle anywhere.

Last edited by Clockton; 02-03-2018 at 01:10 PM.
Clockton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 11:00 AM   #34 (permalink)
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: DFW
Age: 57
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by Clockton View Post
I am losing my mind trying to find the pass through wires in the cab of my '18. I can't find the bundle anywhere.
Curious as to what you're wiring up inside the cab that needs an upfitter switch!
grumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 12:39 PM   #35 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by Clockton View Post
I am losing my mind trying to find the pass through wires in the cab of my '18. I can't find the bundle anywhere.
Deep behind the passenger side kick panel. Either remove the panel or use a mirror and flashlight to go fishing for them.
robbcwz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 02:56 PM   #36 (permalink)
 
ckelly33's Avatar
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 47
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by grumble View Post
Curious as to what you're wiring up inside the cab that needs an upfitter switch!
I cannot answer for him, but I have a radar detector connected to one of mine. Makes for a nice, cord-free install.
ckelly33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 03:04 PM   #37 (permalink)
 
Clockton's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Northern CA.
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
removed the panels and spent hours looking. Thwarted. I think Ford has it out for me. Trying to connect a tailgate drop

Last edited by Clockton; 02-04-2018 at 03:08 PM.
Clockton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 10:43 AM   #38 (permalink)
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: DFW
Age: 57
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
I cannot answer for him, but I have a radar detector connected to one of mine. Makes for a nice, cord-free install.
And boom! I knew I asked this question for a reason. I was going to use a blend mount and a mirror tap for my Valentine 1 and Thinkware dash cam but was afraid it'd pull too much current and start jacking the electronics in the mirror/cam.

Excellent.

---------- Post added at 09:43 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:41 AM ----------

Originally Posted by Clockton View Post
removed the panels and spent hours looking. Thwarted. I think Ford has it out for me. Trying to connect a tailgate drop
The pass-throughs are going to be taped up along with a bunch of other wires. You'll have to cut the bundle open to find them.
grumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 12:10 PM   #39 (permalink)
 
Clockton's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Northern CA.
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by grumble View Post
And boom! I knew I asked this question for a reason. I was going to use a blend mount and a mirror tap for my Valentine 1 and Thinkware dash cam but was afraid it'd pull too much current and start jacking the electronics in the mirror/cam.

Excellent.

---------- Post added at 09:43 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:41 AM ----------



The pass-throughs are going to be taped up along with a bunch of other wires. You'll have to cut the bundle open to find them.
Any guidance on where the bundle is located?
Clockton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 01:21 PM   #40 (permalink)
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: DFW
Age: 57
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by Clockton View Post
Any guidance on where the bundle is located?
On my 2018, they're NOT where the photo indicates - they're taped way up above the fuse box and they're too darned short to do anything with, even after untaping them. grrr.

Last edited by grumble; 04-05-2018 at 06:51 PM.
grumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Tags
aux, upfitter, wires

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pass through wires pat247 Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 12 02-17-2016 07:19 PM
Where to pass wires from engine bay to glove box/Cabin Fb73 Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum 9 02-13-2015 01:03 PM
Pass thru wires IRONMAN Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 17 08-03-2012 06:46 PM
How To Ford Raptor AUX Switch Pass-Through Wires BIRDMAN Ford Raptor How-To's and FAQs 2 01-16-2012 02:26 PM
Pass Thru Wires / Upfitter Switches Explained (Video) BigJ Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 24 07-23-2010 10:13 PM



GM Truck Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Land Rover Forum
Scion FR-S Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum