If you're interested in paint coatings I'll get you sorted

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

1Wolf

Reaction score
Hi Trimmel,

Just wondering if you have heard of "AutoImage" in the Chicagoland area? Almost every review of them I could find out on the net seems excellent.

Also, they offer Opticoat Plus and Modesta. I'm new to the concept of paint coatings so was wondering if you had any opinions on Opticoat plus versus Modesta?

I spoke to the owner on the phone for quite some time, seemed very knowledgeable and seemed a very good guy who has been in business a long time.

With regards to the Opticoat Plus versus Modesta his opinions seemed honest. He said that the Modesta is a few hundred more expensive and takes more time for them to do. He said that Modesta "might" be a bit more durable. But there is no warranty on Modesta. They've only been doing the Modesta about 3 years. The Opticoat he said is a bigger name brand and does offer a warranty, and is a bit cheaper and easier for them to do. However, he cautioned me to read the fine print from Modesta. He also mentioned that Opticoat has changed their formula many times over the years. They've been doing the Opticoat a long time but he still prefers the Modesta.

They also offer CQuartz but, based on the uses I explained to him on the phone, he thought that perhaps CQuartz might be a bit too "showroom" for what I'm looking for.