Trailer scraping issues while towing.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Pulp

Reaction score
First of all the engine on this thing tows like a beast. I'm very happy with the low rpms even up steep hills. Also, I'm getting zero sway using anti-sway bars. At 75 mph, and up some steep hills, I'm averaging 9 MPG which is decent...

But I'm fairly new to towing and am having some issues... I seem to be scraping everywhere; on my maiden voyage I ended up scraping the anti-sway bar pins completely off just by slowly exiting a gas station causing one of the sway bars to fall off. Ugh.

The trailer I'm towing weighs 7,000 lbs loaded, the hitch weight is 900 lbs.

The dealership where I bought the trailer installed the sway bar and did all the measurements so I'm assuming they did it correctly...

What is the ideal solution to this problem? Different leaf springs, air bags, or is my hitch setup incorrectly?

Attachments

• 20170521_142701.jpg
    20170521_142701.jpg
    118.4 KB · Views: 331
  • 20170521_142712.jpg
    20170521_142712.jpg
    172.7 KB · Views: 293

ovrlnd

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Looks to me like even though the truck is squatting a ton, the trailer is pretty much level. If that's really the case and not just the photo angle, then the only real solution is to lift the trailer itself up. You can get a conversion kit to flip the axles to the bottom of the springs, and that will raise the whole thing up 4" or so.

If the trailer is actually angled down though, then the easiest solution is airbags. Deaver is supposed to have springs out already, but they don't show up on their web site, so I'm not sure if the springs people are selling are really made for the truck. Icon is supposed to have some out in November. Either of those will give you a better suspension towing or not.

Last edited:

machtig

Reaction score