sct tuner question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CSmith

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Getting a SCT tuner soon and just had some questions because I'm new at this. When I talk to Mike and tell him I'm getting headers, exhaust, and a CAI, I'm assuming he will give me a custom tuner for those things so the trunk won't need to by dyno'd? Is that how it works pretty much? Sorry if this has been posted somewhere else.

Last edited:

Big Blue

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Getting a SCT tuner soon and just had some questions because I'm new at this. When I talk to Mike and tell him I'm getting headers, exhaust, and a CAI, I'm assuming he will give me a custom tuner for those things so the trunk won't need to by dyno'd? Is that how it works pretty much? Sorry if this has been posted somewhere else.

I will answer your inquiry as best as possible, but you should call Mike @ 5 star for more specific answers.

Yes, you will advise Mike of the performance mods you have made to your truck, exhaust, CAI, headers, etc..and yes these will be factored into your tune.

If you purchase a tune from MIke via a SCT tuner, that type of tune is referred to a "canned" tune. As it is probably applied to a number of buyers with similar mods like your truck. A dyno tune is specific to your truck and requires a tuner to make changes while the vehicle is on the dyno.

If you get a tuner from Mike, you do not need a dyno tune of course, but you can certainly get your truck "dynoed" to see the RWHP and Torque numbers.

A good dyno tune is in the $500 range, but you always want to know your tuner. A good tuner is hard to find, a bad tuner will ***** your engine.

Mike will sell you a tuner with several tunes downloaded on it. However, Mike will also "tweak" your tune to your specific requirements if you require.