How to Set Your Side View Mirrors (Seriously)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MagicMtnDan

FRF Addict
Reaction score
The vast majority of drivers set their side view mirrors to show traffic far back down the adjacent traffic lanes.

If you set them properly they'll cover your blindspots! That way if you don't see a vehicle in your blindspots (or in your rearview mirror further back in either lane) you can do a quick lane change. :waytogo:

Once you get used to this you'll wonder how the hell you ever went without them set this way.

How To: Adjust Your Mirrors to Avoid Blind Spots - Feature - Car and Driver

how-to-adjust-your-mirrors-to-avoid-blind-spots-graphic-photo-323365-s-original.jpg

TheJoker

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Dan, Nice write up you've made some very valid points. I drive for a living and I know mirrors play a pivotal role in accident avoidance. I would agree that most drivers do not position their mirrors out far enough to be effective. However, I would also say that when driving a wide vehicle, like the Raptor, or one with a wide rear swing, like a box truck. The driver must be able to see his own vehicle. Especially in tight locations / in and around town. Also, when pulling from the curb or changing lanes, as said in the video, you have to look over your left shoulder as well as signal your intentions.

OP
OP
M

MagicMtnDan

FRF Addict
Reaction score
However, I would also say that when driving a wide vehicle, like the Raptor, or one with a wide rear swing, like a box truck. The driver must be able to see his own vehicle. Especially in tight locations / in and around town. Also, when pulling from the curb or changing lanes, as said in the video, you have to look over your left shoulder as well as signal your intentions.

Thanks for your kind words.