Go Back   FORD RAPTOR FORUM - Ford SVT Raptor Forums - Ford Raptor > GEN 1 (2010-2014) Ford SVT Raptor Forums > Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Supporting Vendor

Register to remove these ads.


Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]

2012 nav aftermarket upgrade


This is a discussion on 2012 nav aftermarket upgrade within the Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] forums, part of the GEN 1 (2010-2014) Ford SVT Raptor Forums category!
...


User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2018, 11:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
I'm doing the install again and everything is going much better but I can't figure out the back up camera and radio antenna. Could you walk through what you did?
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
I have just done this very install into my 11 screw. More than happy to share some of the lessons Iíve learned if you want.

DNX874s, idatalink maestro, retained factory BU cam, usb, and aux. no sync used anymore. All kenwood functionality.


Paul


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk




Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 12:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by Ol'cank View Post
I'm doing the install again and everything is going much better but I can't figure out the back up camera and radio antenna. Could you walk through what you did?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


The radio antenna is pretty straightforward, just get a Best kits BAA20 radio antenna adapter.

The backup camera is already powered by the truck so you only need to deal with signal. 2 wires, positive and negative are in the 10 pin harness that is not connected to the new maestro harness. You need an male rca jack to connect to these wires. Center pin is positive and the shroud is negative. Look for the white wire with green stripe and the brown wire with purple stripe. I cut mine from the harness, but you could do a splice just as easily.

Splice RCA positive (inside wire) to the white/green wire
- Splice RCA negative (outer wire) to the brown/violet wire

Connect the rca to the camera input on your new head unit.

I recommend you solder and heat shrink these wires. I donít like bulky butt connectors or taps. You may have to cut back the loom on the factory harness to get enough wire out, but just go slow and try not to nick any of the other wires in there.

The maestro harness provides reverse trigger in the harness so if you hook that up to the reverse wire on your deck, you should have a happy camera when the truck is put into reverse. The only thing different is that my truck would keep the camera on once triggered in any gear up to about 10mph. That was a head unit feature that the Kenwood doesnít replicate. However it does have a button to turn the camera on whenever you want, so I think itís an ok trade.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
inetjanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Im just now realizing that this may have been a bad idea but I've tried every combination of every white/green and brown/violet wire I could find and cannot get this camera to work.
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
The radio antenna is pretty straightforward, just get a Best kits BAA20 radio antenna adapter.

The backup camera is already powered by the truck so you only need to deal with signal. 2 wires, positive and negative are in the 10 pin harness that is not connected to the new maestro harness. You need an male rca jack to connect to these wires. Center pin is positive and the shroud is negative. Look for the white wire with green stripe and the brown wire with purple stripe. I cut mine from the harness, but you could do a splice just as easily.

Splice RCA positive (inside wire) to the white/green wire
- Splice RCA negative (outer wire) to the brown/violet wire

Connect the rca to the camera input on your new head unit.

I recommend you solder and heat shrink these wires. I donít like bulky butt connectors or taps. You may have to cut back the loom on the factory harness to get enough wire out, but just go slow and try not to nick any of the other wires in there.

The maestro harness provides reverse trigger in the harness so if you hook that up to the reverse wire on your deck, you should have a happy camera when the truck is put into reverse. The only thing different is that my truck would keep the camera on once triggered in any gear up to about 10mph. That was a head unit feature that the Kenwood doesnít replicate. However it does have a button to turn the camera on whenever you want, so I think itís an ok trade.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by Ol'cank View Post
Im just now realizing that this may have been a bad idea but I've tried every combination of every white/green and brown/violet wire I could find and cannot get this camera to work.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
So, no disrespect intended, but let me ask a couple questions.
1. Is the truck on while you are testing? ACC is not going to always cut it.
2. How are you testing the wires? If you happen to be trying to push the stripped wires of the RCA into the front of the connector, for instance, it will not work. You are going to have to strip a little insulation off of them and then twist in the leads.
3. what year is the truck? I believe that 10-12 are largely the same animal, but I could be mistaken. those wire colors worked on my 11. I cannot speak to other years.

-Paul
inetjanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
I've tried in in ACC, on, and running. Even tried shifting into reverse. Unit goes to rear camera but it's just black.

They are stripped and twisted (at the least, I just went ahead and used a connector the first time as I over confident.)

The truck is a 2012. I'm fairly sure the 11's are the same.

I just don't get it and I've been googling for an hour trying to figure it out.
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
So, no disrespect intended, but let me ask a couple questions.
1. Is the truck on while you are testing? ACC is not going to always cut it.
2. How are you testing the wires? If you happen to be trying to push the stripped wires of the RCA into the front of the connector, for instance, it will not work. You are going to have to strip a little insulation off of them and then twist in the leads.
3. what year is the truck? I believe that 10-12 are largely the same animal, but I could be mistaken. those wire colors worked on my 11. I cannot speak to other years.

-Paul
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Any chance the camera is bad? Did it work recently? i guess it could be a bad RCA, but that is really unlikely. Did you verify RCA wire polarity with a volt meter? Maybe swap the leads real quick and see if they are reversed someway.
inetjanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
The camera was working fine right up u til I started the install. I've tried swapping the leads and even other RCA's I had laying around. I guess my next step is to buy a brand new RCA and see if that works.
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
Any chance the camera is bad? Did it work recently? i guess it could be a bad RCA, but that is really unlikely. Did you verify RCA wire polarity with a volt meter? Maybe swap the leads real quick and see if they are reversed someway.
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
I swear we are missing something simple here. It is possible to have a bad RCA, but i can't think of one time where that was actually the cause of my issue. Take a look at this link, there are some pictures of the harness plug and the wires that need tapped. https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...up-camera.html

There were more than 3 wires in mine, but i am certain that is based on what options your truck has installed.
inetjanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
That's exactly what I did. Mine also had more than three words but I put a RCA right on those two wires and plugged into the rear camera connection. I couldn't stand to look at it anymore today so I put it all back together. I haven't tested everything yet but as far as I can tell I have full functionality other than the camera.
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
I swear we are missing something simple here. It is possible to have a bad RCA, but i can't think of one time where that was actually the cause of my issue. Take a look at this link, there are some pictures of the harness plug and the wires that need tapped. https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...up-camera.html

There were more than 3 wires in mine, but i am certain that is based on what options your truck has installed.
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 11:41 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Age: 43
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
I recently upgrade my factory nav on my 2012, I installed a Pioneer AVIC 8201 NEX together with the iDatalink Maestro RR, what I needed on top was the FM antenna adaptor and the F01 harness, as I had already the nav I was able to retain the factory dash however I had to buy a metra kit for which I needed only the bracket. Cutting the plastic bar was very easy and the unit fitted at first try (I guess I was lucky here). I retain the factory back up camera as thanks to some googling I was able to trace the wires behind the dash, I so used the pioneer camera as a front camera.
I'm happy to report that all the center dash switches including the volume knob still works!!!!

If you are upgrading the factory nav you must install a radio compatible with the idatalink maestro otherwise you won't be able to set the A/C properly.
Attached Thumbnails
front-camera.jpg   rearcam.jpg   press.jpg  

gauges.jpg   start.jpg   maps.jpg  

climate.jpg   camera.jpg  

Last edited by mimcat; 06-08-2018 at 02:09 PM.
mimcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Tags
aftermarket, gen 1, nav system

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 2012 Nav to 2014 OEM? WareWolf Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 6 12-04-2015 10:42 PM
2012 Radio/media cluster upgrade/conversion Palerider Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 23 03-08-2015 06:17 AM
Are you going to upgrade to a Gen 2? Kenneth Ford SVT Raptor General Discussions [GEN 1] 97 01-24-2015 11:38 AM
DIRTFEST 2012 at Speedworld January 21, 2012 - Surprise, AZ RaceSpeedworld Upcoming Expedition Announcements and Planning 0 01-18-2012 12:01 PM
First Upgrade? Talon New Member Check-In 44 07-17-2011 11:05 PM



GM Truck Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Land Rover Forum
Scion FR-S Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum