Go Back   FORD RAPTOR FORUM - Ford SVT Raptor Forums - Ford Raptor > GEN 1 (2010-2014) Ford SVT Raptor Forums > Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Supporting Vendor

Register to remove these ads.


Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]

2012 nav aftermarket upgrade


This is a discussion on 2012 nav aftermarket upgrade within the Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] forums, part of the GEN 1 (2010-2014) Ford SVT Raptor Forums category!
I've been searching here and other various forums the past few days trying to find a solid answer. I just ...


User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2018, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default 2012 nav aftermarket upgrade
I've been searching here and other various forums the past few days trying to find a solid answer. I just bought a used 2012 scab and it's all great except the stock nav unit. It's terrible.

I'm really wanting to run the Kenwood DNX875s instead. I've seen some who have said it can be done and others who says it can't. I've talked to a tech a crutchfield and he said it can't.

I've read about the iDatalink Maestro and their website leads me to believe that it should work but it's also not extremely clear.

Does anyone know definitively if it can be without losing features or what features are lost by doing it?

Any help would be great, thanks.




Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Otis857's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Glendale, az
Age: 60
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Contact [email protected] He is the resident Raptor audio whiz. He also knows how to integrate the Maestro system for adding aftermarket head units in our trucks. Good guy to deal with too!
Cayman150 likes this.


__________________
Mike
2011 Scab

"Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most"
Otis857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Thanks for the reply! I'll hit him up
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by Ol'cank View Post
Thanks for the reply! I'll hit him up


Any luck or updates you can share?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
djscoutmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
So far, it's been a real pain. I've talked to some people around the forums and have gotten some leads. I'm also talking to a local audio shop about my options.

As of right now I have the head unit, iDatalink Maestro RR and the Ford harness from iDatalink. There appears to be no dash kits available to replace the stock nav so a mount must be fabricated. The Ford harness from iDatalink doesn't fully mesh with the factory harness, I'm not sure what's up with that.

I'll be contacting a shop that did another members system for tips and tricks. Hopefully I'll have some luck soon.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
I've ran into other issues with my truck so this project is going on hold. I have no new news but I'll update when I can get back around to it.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
I have just done this very install into my 11 screw. More than happy to share some of the lessons Iíve learned if you want.

DNX874s, idatalink maestro, retained factory BU cam, usb, and aux. no sync used anymore. All kenwood functionality.


Paul


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
inetjanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Perfect! Did you use idatalink's Ford harness? How did you end up mounting the unit? Do you happen to have any pictures?

Thanks for reaching out!
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
I have just done this very install into my 11 screw. More than happy to share some of the lessons Iíve learned if you want.

DNX874s, idatalink maestro, retained factory BU cam, usb, and aux. no sync used anymore. All kenwood functionality.


Paul


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 07:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Yeah, the FO1 harness. Be aware youíre not going to use all the factory plugs. Only used 2 of the 4 on mine.

Also used a Best Kits BRK540 kit, but only the side mounts. The front fascia plate will not fit, and does not allow the head unit to be moved up far enough to sit right in the ford face plate. This was the biggest source of pain and suffering in the whole install. Honestly, if I had to do it over again, I might have chosen a head unit that has a single din body with a double din screen. I think the Alpines are like this on some models. Since ford separated the screen from the head unit body, they mounted it abnormally high.

I didnít think to take pictures while it was apart. I will grab some when I add the trim ring this weekend, as even with a 6.9Ē display, there is still a visible gap around the Kenwood unit that needs cleaned up.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

---------- Post added at 07:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:42 PM ----------

Funnily enough, even though they donít make a kit for the 11-12 Raps, their instructions seem to be clued in that some light trimming is necessary in the dash. This is a pretty good picture of what needs removed.

Now, please, do not use an air recip saw. Holy hell. Use an oscillating trim saw. Cuts through dash plastic like butter, and doesnít have the nasty tendency to eat through everything else in the process.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
inetjanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 07:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member

 
Join Date: May 2018
Age: 27
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
I have been freaking out over the plugs! I was so worried lol. I was planning on trying to fabricate some type of mount but I'll check out that kit instead. Thank you so much for the information. I'll be attempting the install again soon. Hopefully it goes much better this time.
Originally Posted by inetjanitor View Post
Yeah, the FO1 harness. Be aware youíre not going to use all the factory plugs. Only used 2 of the 4 on mine.

Also used a Best Kits BRK540 kit, but only the side mounts. The front fascia plate will not fit, and does not allow the head unit to be moved up far enough to sit right in the ford face plate. This was the biggest source of pain and suffering in the whole install. Honestly, if I had to do it over again, I might have chosen a head unit that has a single din body with a double din screen. I think the Alpines are like this on some models. Since ford separated the screen from the head unit body, they mounted it abnormally high.

I didnít think to take pictures while it was apart. I will grab some when I add the trim ring this weekend, as even with a 6.9Ē display, there is still a visible gap around the Kenwood unit that needs cleaned up.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

---------- Post added at 07:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:42 PM ----------

Funnily enough, even though they donít make a kit for the 11-12 Raps, their instructions seem to be clued in that some light trimming is necessary in the dash. This is a pretty good picture of what needs removed.

Now, please, do not use an air recip saw. Holy hell. Use an oscillating trim saw. Cuts through dash plastic like butter, and doesnít have the nasty tendency to eat through everything else in the process.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Ol'cank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Tags
aftermarket, gen 1, nav system

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 2012 Nav to 2014 OEM? WareWolf Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 6 12-04-2015 10:42 PM
2012 Radio/media cluster upgrade/conversion Palerider Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1] 23 03-08-2015 06:17 AM
Are you going to upgrade to a Gen 2? Kenneth Ford SVT Raptor General Discussions [GEN 1] 97 01-24-2015 11:38 AM
DIRTFEST 2012 at Speedworld January 21, 2012 - Surprise, AZ RaceSpeedworld Upcoming Expedition Announcements and Planning 0 01-18-2012 12:01 PM
First Upgrade? Talon New Member Check-In 44 07-17-2011 11:05 PM



GM Truck Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Land Rover Forum
Scion FR-S Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum