Colorado Raptor owners, Need your help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

OP
OP
Otis857

Otis857

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well gang, I have my date set and the route is forming now. the first day, July 20 will be Phoenix to Durango where my son will be flying in from Denver to join the road trip. The wife wants to see Telluride, so Im thinking ill go up the 550 from Durango and make the first pass the Ophir pass and go into Telluride for some touristy crap.

So Imogene to Ouray from Telluride?? Yes or No?

im a seasoned off roader with more motorcycle hours than I can count on roads like this, but i dont want to scare the hell out of my wife on the first day either. She's not a total noob, but does not have that much time looking off the side of a mountain from the passenger door either, Ha.. I can always go the paved route (blaaah) to Placerville and take the 62 to Ridgeway and down to Ouray for the night. I hear its scenic too.

Off roading day 2 will be something south of the 550 and working our way up to Aspen for some more sight seeing (wife's request). Route & passes yet to be determined. But I have read that Lake city is worth the trip and lots of great sights along the way. I hear Engineer may be a bit much, and Cinnamon Pass would be a safer alternative to get to Lake city. Any route suggestions?

Otis, I am an engineer at a local mine in Ouray 3 weeks a month. I would be down to meet up and do some trails with you if the timing works out. Also, a lot of the passes can be accessed from difficult and not so difficult routes, so you can get to almost all of the good spots one way or another. I can probably get us onto the mine site as well for some good photos in front of Mt. Sneffels. Shoot me a PM for contact information if you would like.