SVT Vent Back-Lighting Mod

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JohntheDrummer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok, Here we go. I spent some time writing this up based on my own installation and had trouble posting this with the pictures in the right spots. I now have a Photobucket account so let's see if I can get-R-done. Some of what I do for a living trickled into this (it was kind of humorous to me), so please forgive... You military guys who have read technical manuals will get it. :biggrin: The link to get the red EL (or other colors) is: http://www.glowhut.com/electroluminescent-panelel-tapeback-light-with-12v-invert12.html

BACK-LIT SVT VENT INSTALLATION

Tools Required:
· Old Credit Card
· 1” Wide Putty Knife
· Wire Cutters
· Wire Strippers
· 8 mm Socket, ¼” Drive
· Ratchet, ¼” Drive
· Razor Knife

Materials Required:
Electrician’s Tape
Cable Ties
Wire Nut (1)
RTV, Electrical
Formula 409
Tape, Two-way
Clean Towel

Equipment Conditions:
· Engine OFF
· Hood Opened

Figure1.jpg

This is to take your F-150 Raptor SVT to the next​
level of cool. This is your before picture.
Figure2.jpg

Note:​
It may be necessary to cut your credit card slightly narrower to ensure that the credit card will fit between the clips on the SVT vent.​
1. Carefully insert an old credit card behind your SVT vent.
Figure3.jpg
2. Carefully insert putty knife between SVT vent and credit card. Once tip of knife is past the “T” move knife up until you hear a click.

3. Carefully move the putty knife down until you hear a click.

4. With your free hand, reach in over the top to the back of the SVT vent and apply pressure to the top of the clip to assist in releasing it from the fender while simultaneously applying pressure to the rear of the vent with the putty knife, releasing the SVT vent.
Figure5.jpg

Figure8.jpg