Plasti-Dipped The Rap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

infinitereality

SLC IR/8
Reaction score
I’ve been considering this for a couple years now, ever since I did the busa in white. Never had the place to do it, but since we finished building end of last year I now have the room.

Definitely not everyone's color, but I dig it. I ordered "light blue" dip and while the pictures look like you'd expect, in person it's definitely Grabber Blue. I even confirmed with DYC on the proper color before using it. Every picture I've seen online of light blue dip, looked like you'd expect.... No matter if I used the DSLR or my phone for pictures, they always came out light blue. I was disappointed at first, but after pulling it out of the shop I'm glad it ended up being the color it is. I need to play with them in Photoshop to get it to look the correct color. I'm thinking it's the white balance, any experts here to fill me in?

Took WAY longer than I anticipated to tape things off. I also sprayed the black before the blue, which in hindsight I should have done black last... It'd been easier to tape. I waited 48hrs before taping off for the blue, but still wasn't long enough. I was able to fix the bumpers pretty easily with some Naptha and a brush, but I quickly realized I'd have to re-dip the fenders so I just sprayed them blue for now. In a couple weeks I think I’ll come back and spray them black since I still have 1 gallon left. I also likely will cut out the raptor lettering and put on the beds, I miss the graphics. Taping was realitively easy, hardest part was around the heat extractors.

It was hard to figure out how much dip I needed to purchase, but this is what I used and got full coverage. I lost count on how many coats I put on, it was a minimum of 6.
- 1 gallon of black to do the roof, fender flares and bumpers.