how to install brake pads and rotors

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cubiefan101

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Not sure what thread this fits in. But Im looking at installing my R1concept break pads and rotors. I have never done this before and was looking for a good write up.

smarsha11

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Being a Cards fan I am bound by honor to not disclose any information that may be helpful to a Cubs fan.

butt.. Being a Raptor owner earns my respect back.

I upgraded to R1's a couple of months ago and it was no big deal. Be mindful of the tabs on the pads and make sure the replacements are inserted the same way. They can be put in wrong which can cause them to rub on some Method wheels. Also be careful when removing your calipers and use something to hang them on to keep them from dropping and risk snapping a brake line. This happened to me and the truck had to sit in the garage for a week waiting on a replacement line. You may also require a BFHammer to break loose the rotors.

OP
OP
cubiefan101

cubiefan101

Full Access Member
Reaction score
any special tools needed. I was watching a video on a f150 and they needed a big socket to remove the rotors.

---------- Post added at 04:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

I also saw a guy using a manual hammer drill to loosen a screw.

smarsha11

Full Access Member
Reaction score
No special tools required. You were probably watching a video of them changing rotors on a 2 wheel drive F150. You just need to remove the calipers - just 2 bolts hold them on if I recall - then with a little help from a hammer you should be able to knock the rotors loose and replace. Don't be afraid to beat on them. It may take a few whacks.