Shaking tires? Sandbags to even out?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

raptorwarrior

Reaction score
Hi all,

Just got some method standards and goodyear mtr's installed. Really happy with the look and how quiet the tires are.

Everything was great until I got on the high way. At about 60MPH the truck was shaking all over the place. My initial thought was that they must have miss-balanced my tires right?

I called the guy that did the mount and balance and he said the following:

"The MTRs have sandbags in them and if you drive on it for a little bit the bags will even themselves out and the vibrations will go away."

I am not a tire expert, but this seems wrong.. Any thoughts guys??

BAJASVT

FRF Addict
Reaction score
There's a method of balancing tires that uses a media inside the tire such as sand or pellets instead of weights attached to the wheel. The balancing media does not come in the tires, so if it's in your tire assembly it means that it was put there by whoever mounted them on the wheels. It's not unheard of for this method to be used with larger tires, but I've never heard of people having luck with it; I tried it once and it didn't work for me. I would take them back to have the sand removed and have them balanced conventionally. Good luck with those MTRs... I had a set on a truck which turned into multiple sets due to prorated warranty replacement from Goodyear because they kept shaking, wobbling, wouldn't balance, broken belts, etc. and finally sold them dirt cheap on Craigslist with the disclaimer that they were the worst tires I ever owned. This is possibly why your tire shop attempted to balance them with sand.

vince7870

Full Access Member
Reaction score