What's the Best way to break in a new Truck?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DTF-DEUCHER

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok, as you all know, I'm headed to El Paso tomorrow to pick up my SCrew! :peace:

It is about 1400 miles back home.

I'm a novice when it comes to this but what would the best way to drive home as far as speed, cruise, start/stop, etc?

I've been told vary the speed, jump on the throttle quite a few times and so forth. They tell me that if I break it in like a kitten, my RAPTOR will always be a ***** (cat). If I beat on it, it will always be a monster...

Thoughts?

I did the exact same thing as you man.... Driving from Oklahoma to El Paso !
For the first 750 i let it shift through gears and drove it easy.... Right when i hit 750 i gunned it from 70 to 100mph.... And from there on every now and then and at every rest stop i stopped at gave it a little through the gears.... I managed to get 17mpg on the highway breaking mine in like that...

If you wanna get crazy on so offroading here let me know !!!

swoop1156

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I jumped in my first Raptor and hauled ass for 600 miles and then went offroad and beat the **** out of it. She loved every minute of it and ran like a champ.

The second Raptor, the dealer went and got it from 300 miles away and then I immediately drove from Florida to Michigan at 80-90mph for 1,100 miles, hooked up a 5,000lb trailer to her and drug it back at 70-80mph for 1,100 miles. She loved every minute of it and ran like a champ.

I don't think it matters what you do anymore. "Break-In Periods" are a thing of the past.

Badrap

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Ditto Swoop! I drove mine like hell in the air or on the ground and scared a few buddies of mine. We are still alive and they are still talking about it.Ha
Off road of course...