DIY stereo upgrade for under $500.00

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

thinkrevolutionx

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I was under the impression removing the stock amp at all screws everything up, but i'm no expert and curious for the answer to this as well and if so why.

thinkrevolutionx

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ok so I got everything in (all the JBL stuff) minus the passenger side tweeter due to also installing a dash cam and it setting me back a bit waiting for a part.

Thoughts: the JBL speakers are AWESOME. I've had some high end stuff in other cars, and for the price, these are absolutely fantastic. I wonder what the stock amp (2018 B&O) is putting out, because they seem a lot clearer then I thought they would, but they also have a very high sensitivity.

Overall i'd put this, now, somewhere between the H&K system in my 2015 435i and dedicated $2500+ sound systems I've done in other cars (back in the day mind you)

I also dynamatted the inner and outer door shells. I attempted MLV but after doing one door, it just didn't seem worth it to me.

I ran into a bunch of issues (minor) along the way. I took a bunch of pictures, i'll probably put together a thread on it when I have the time.

Also, to touch on what some people were concerned about: the center speaker sounds great. That being said, it was overwhelmingly harsh initially, but I read about the latest version of SYNC 3 changing the audio staging, so I upgraded and it's night and day. I have all the EQ settings at neutral and it sounds excellent. Without having upgraded SYNC though, I would have had to eat my purchase and disconnect the center channel.

Next up, sub and amp. Any suggestions ? :D

smurfslayer

Be vewwy, vewwy quiet. We’re hunting sasquatch77
Reaction score
dynamat the sub enclosure.